Minutes from the Regular Board of Education Meeting of March 13, 2023

1. The regular meeting of the Board of Education of District 84.5 was called to order by President Roeder at 6:02 p.m. March 13, 2023. Roll call showed the following:

Present: Members Roeder, White, DiPaola, Danek, and Boyte

Absent: Member Ortega

Also Present: Jim Prather, Arthur Chmiel, Don Palmer, Lisa Kaplan, Shells Fiddick, Molly

Wilk, Christie McVicker, and Jack Lutz

2. The minutes of the Regular Meeting of February 15, 2023 and Closed Session of February 15, 2023, had been previously distributed and read by the members of the Board. Member Danek made a motion, seconded by Member DiPaola to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of February 15, 2023 as submitted. *Upon a roll being taken, all members present were in favor and the motion was carried.

Member Boyte made a motion, seconded by Member DiPaola to approve the minutes of the Closed Session of February 15, 2023 as submitted. *Upon a roll being taken, all members present were in favor and the motion was carried.

3. The fund balances for February 28, 2023 as reported by the District Treasurer are as follows:

TOTAL	\$ 19,670,783.	
Fire Prevention	\$ 81,168.	16
Tort	\$ 179,353.	74
Working Cash	\$ 229,920.	97
Site & Construction	\$ 85,203.4	48
I.M.R.F.	\$ 968,354.	36
Transportation Fund	\$ 1,704,145.	07
Bond/Interest Fund	\$ (21,825.1	L3)
Operation Fund	\$ 250,848.	36
Education Fund	\$16,193,614.6	59

Member Danek made a motion, seconded by Member White to acknowledge receipt of the District Treasurer's Report for the month ending February 28, 2023. Roll call showed the following:

Ayes: Members Roeder, White, DiPaola, Danek, and Boyte.

Nays: None. Motion carried.

4. Member DiPaola made a motion, seconded by Member Danek to approve Vouchers 1763 through 1768 in the total amount of \$1,765,643.07 and authorize President and Secretary to sign same. Roll call showed the following:

Ayes: Members Roeder, White, Danek, DiPaola, and Boyte.

Nays: None. Motion carried.

5. Member Danek made a motion, seconded by Member DiPaola to approve the related costs for Jan Roeder's attendance at the COSSBA 2023 national convention per the Rhodes limits related to board member attendance at conferences. Roll call showed the following:

Ayes: Members Roeder, White, Boyte, DiPaola, and Danek.

Nays: None. Motion carried.

6. Member White made a motion, seconded by Member DiPaola to approve the following lowest bidders as presented and recommended by Wight and Company for the new addition and site work: Bid Package #26 "Concrete" to Lindblad Construction, Bid Package #27 "Landscaping" to Allied Landscaping, Bid Package #28 "Site Electrical" to Excel Electric. Roll call showed the following:

Ayes: Members White, Boyte, DiPaola, Danek, and Roeder.

Nays: None. Motion carried.

- 7. Member White made a motion, seconded by Member Danek to approve the grant-related District Plan for 2023/24. *Upon a roll being taken, all members present were in favor and the motion was carried.
- 8. Member Danek made a motion, seconded by Member White to adjourn to closed session at 6:24 to discuss the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees, volunteers, or contractor personnel and collective negotiations matters. *Upon a roll being taken, all members present were in favor and the motion was carried.
- 9. Member Danek made a motion, seconded by Member White to adjourn closed session at 6:48 p.m. *Upon a roll being taken, all members present were in favor and the motion was carried.
- 10. The closed session was returned to regular session at 6:52 p.m.
- 11. Action after closed:
 - Accept the resignation of Sandra Tovar at the end of the current school year (5 ayes)
 - 2. Approve the resignation of Mirissa Lucchesi at the end of the current school year (5 ayes)
- 12. Member Danek made a motion, seconded by Member DiPaola to adjourn. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:04 p.m.

	President
Secretary	

^{*}Roll call showed the following members voting Aye:

Members Roeder, White, DiPaola, Danek, and Boyte